AASP Fellows

A Fellow is an AASP member who has achieved distinction through significant contributions to academic and professional practice knowledge in sport and exercise psychology.

AASP Fellows are conferred by the Fellow Review Committee who affirms that a member has achieved the following criteria.

Criteria to Become a Fellow

Deadline: March 1 each year

  • Demonstrated high standards of professional development by committing directly to the goals and long-range activities of the Association as evidenced by activities such as presentations at Association conferences, membership on Association committees, and contributions to Association publications. 
  • A doctorate from an accredited institution in a field related to sport psychology.
  • Been a member of the Association for at least three consecutive years.
  • Made significant contributions to academic and professional practice knowledge in sport and exercise psychology as evidenced by a distinguished record of academic publications, applied publications, the development of outstanding educational materials and programs, and/or via major contributions to sport organizations (e.g. design, implement and sustain over times a sport psychology program in a National Sport Governing Body, influence sport policy at the nation or international level).
  • Received approval by the Fellow Review Committee.

(Constitution Article IV Section 3)

>>Fellow Application Guidelines

Active, Inactive, and Emeritus Fellow Status

As stated in the Constitution, only active fellows and fellow emeriti can vote on issues relating to certification standards, ethical principles, and professional standards.

Active fellow status requires current AASP membership and attendance at an AASP conference within the last three years. Failure to meet these criteria will result in inactive fellow status.

Fellow Emeritus: Persons who have been an active fellow of AASP within five years of their retirement can apply to become a Fellow Emeritus of the organization. 

Active Fellows

Heather Barber (2005) 

Bonnie Berger (1987) 

Britton Brewer (2004) 

Charlie Brown (2010)

Damon Burton (2003)  

Melissa Chase (2009)

Karen Cogan (2004)    

Gualberto Cremades (2015)

Steve Danish (1991) 

Hap Davis (2006)  

Joan Duda (1988) 

Vicki Ebbeck (2004) 

Ed Etzel (2007)

Marty Ewing (2010)

Leslee Fisher (2011)

David Fletcher (2014)

Frances Flint (2009)

Mary Fry (2009)

Burt Giges (2006)

Diane Gill (1987)

Daniel Gould (1987) 

Joy Griffin (2002)

Bruce Hale (1996)

Evelyn Hall (1989)

Dough Hankes (2015)

Stephanie Hanrahan (2010)

Charles Hardy (1987)

Bob Harmison (2015)

Chris Harwood (2007)

Kate Hays (2000)

John Heil (1998)

Ken Hodge (2012)

Dan Kirschenbaum (1987)

Vikki Krane (2000)

Jack Lesyk (2011) 

Jeff Martin (2004) 

Scott Martin (2004) 

Ian Maynard (2007)

Sean McCann (2009)

Penny McCullagh (1992)

Rick McGuire (2010)

Jon Metzler (2013)

Maria Newton (2012)

Ed O'Connor (2010)

Carole Oglesby (1987)  

David Pargman (1987)

Al Petitpas (1993)

Kirsten Peterson (2013)

Linda Petlichkoff (1995)

Trent Petrie (2000)

Artur Poczwardowski (2015)

Tom Raedeke (2015)

Ken Ravizza (1988)

Glyn Roberts (1987)

Tatiana Ryba (2013)

Michael Sachs (1987)

Tara Scanlan (1987)

Rob Schinke (2014)

John Silva (1987)

Wesley Sime (1987)

Robert Smith (1995)

Frank Smoll (1988)

Gloria Solomon (2001)

Natalia Stambulova (2014)

Traci Statler (2015)

Gershon Tennenbaum (2006)

Judy Van Raalte (2002)

Robin Vealey (1989)

Ralph Vernacchia (2001)

Brent Walker (2015)

Jack Watson (2012)

Dan Weigand (2004)

Robert Weinberg (1987)

Diane Whaley (2013)

Diane Wiese-Bjornstal (2002)

Jean Williams (1987)

Craig Wrisberg (1998)

David Yukelson (1987)

Sam Zizzi (2012)

Leonard Zaichkowsky (1988)


(year inducted as Fellow)

Updated September 2013

Follow Us:

social-btm social-btm social-btm