Undergraduate Programs

UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAMS IN SPORT AND EXERCISE PSYCHOLOGY

by Sarah L. Castillo, National University

With the rise in publicity and popularity of sport psychology, a number of institutions have created academic majors and minors in Sport and Exercise Psychology.  In general, one can define an academic “major” as a program of in-depth study leading directly to a baccalaureate degree and an academic “minor” as a secondary field of study or specialization.  An academic minor requires fewer courses and does not, in and of itself, lead to a bachelor’s degree.  General Education and elective coursework is required by institutions in addition to the coursework requirements for the major and/or minor.  The number of credit hours required to complete an academic major or minor depends both on institutional policy and on institutional structure (i.e., semester or quarter system).  Given the unique demands and opportunities in the field, especially applied work in performance enhancement and AASP Certification, students may be best served to major in Psychology and minor in Sport and Exercise Psychology, or vice versa depending on your chosen university’s academic programs.  Students should conduct careful research on programs of interest to determine which one best meets their needs. 

The institutions below have established either majors or minors in Sport and Exercise Psychology

                  
                                                                                                     

Institution Major/Minor Degree Department    Contact Info       Comments    

Adams State College
Alamosa, CO

Major
Website

Minor
Website

BA

Dept. of Psychology

Dr. Kim Kelso
kakelso@adams.edu

Dr. "Beez" Lea Ann Schell
beezschell@adams.edu

 

Arcadia University,
Glenside, PA

Major
Website

BA

Psychology

Dr. Steven Robbins
robbinss@arcadia.edu

Requires 1 year of study abroad

Barry University
Miami Shores, FL

Major
Website

BS

Dept. of Exercise & Sport Science

Dr. Duncan Simpson
dsimpson@barry.edu

As well as the major students will also get a minor in psychology or management (business)

California State University, Long Beach
Long Beach, CA

Major Option
Website

BS

Kinesiology

Dr. Alison Wrynn
Alison.wrynn@csulb.edu

Degree is in Kinesiology  with an option in Sport Psychology and Leadership

Ithaca College
Ithaca, NY

Minor
Website

 

 

 

Dept. of Exercise & Sport Sciences

Dr. Greg Shelley
gshelley@ithaca.edu

Dr, Justine Vosloo
jvosloo@ithaca.edu

Degree is a BS in Exercise Science

Lock Haven University
Lock Haven, PA

Minor
Website

 

Dept. of Sport Studies

Dr. Patricia Lally
plally@lhup.edu

 

National University
Carlsbad, CA

Major
Website

BA

Dept of Psychology

Dr. Sarah Castillo
scastillo@nu.edu

Onsite and online courses approved to meet AASP Certification requirements

Pacific Lutheran University
Tacoma, WA

Minor
Website

 

Dept of Kinesiology

Dr. Colleen Hacker
hackercm@plu.edu

 

Robert Morris University Pittsburgh, PA

Major
Website

 BS

Social Sciences

Dr. Samantha Monda
monda@rmu.edu

Degree is in Psychology with a concentration in sport psychology

The State University of New York at Fredonia
Fredonia, NY

Major
Website

BA

Currently in Interdisciplinary Studies; possible change to Psychology

Dr. Bruce Klonsky               
klonsky@fredonia.edu         
sport.psychology@fredonia.edu

Course categories patterned after AASP Certification criteria

Texas A&M, Kingsville
Kingsville, TX

Major
Website

BS

Dept. of Health & Kinesiology

Dr. Stacey Gaines
stacey.gaines@tamuk.edu

Degree is in Kinesiology with an option in Exercise Science-Performance Psychology

Texas Christian University
Fort Worth, TX

Major
Website

BS

Dept. of Kinesiology

Dr. Gloria Solomon
g.solomon@tcu.edu

Major in Sport Psychology; internship opportunities

Texas State University
San Marcos, TX

Minor
Website

 

Dept. of Psychology

psych-IT@txstate.edu

 

University of Northern Iowa
Cedar Falls, IA

Major Specialization


Website

BA

School of Health, Phys. Ed. & Leisure Services

Dr. Mickey Mack
mickey.mack@uni.edu

Major in Mvmt. and Ex. Sci. with a focus in Sport Psychology

Washburn University
Topeka, KS

Major Concentration
Website

BA

Dept. of Kinesiology

Dr. Park Lockwood
park.lockwood@washburn.edu

Dr. Dave Provorse
dave.provorse@washburn.edu

Degree is in Kinesiology with a concentration in Sport Psychology

West Virginia University
Morgantown, WV

Major
Website

 


Minor
Website

BS

 

 

 

College of Phys. Act. & Sport Sciences

 

College of Phys. Act. & Sport Sciences

Dr. Damien Clement
Damien.Clement@mail.wvu.edu
Dr. Jack Watson
Jack.Watson@mail.wvu.edu


Carol Straight
cstraig@mail.wvu.edu

Students are mentored by faculty and doctoral students

Provides an overview of the principles  and theories of sport and physical activity.

University of West Florida
Pensacola, FL

Minor
Website

BA

Dept. of Psychology

Dr. Robert Rotunda
rrotunda@uwf.edu

 

Western Washington University
Bellingham, WA

Major Specialization
Website

Minor
Website

BS

 

 

Dept. of Phys. Ed, Health, & Recreation

Dr. Linda Keeler
Linda.Keeler@wwu.edu

 

Degree is in Kinesiology with a specialization in Sport Psychology

Follow Us:

social-btm social-btm social-btm